After reviewing the play, the umpires determined that the call should stand. It ended up having no bearing on the game, which the Phillies won, 1-0.
"There is a clutch rule, as far as having the glove wrapped around the ball," Phillies manager Ryne Sandberg said. "We felt like it was close enough to challenge in a 1-0 game. No outs in the game, a leadoff hitter and a base stealer. Worth a shot right there. It was close enough to where interpretation of grasping the ball or not, I don't know. I thought it was very close whether his foot was still in the air or not."
Todd Zolecki is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.