The official scorer ruled it a single and an error to Barnes for allowing Howard to reach second. A Major League Baseball authenticator retrieved the ball in the event the call is overturned. Naturally, most everybody in the Phillies clubhouse thought the play should have been ruled a double.
"He went for a shoestring catch there and the ball got by him for a double," Phillies manager Ryne Sandberg said. "He went for the catch. There's no guarantee he knocks that down and makes it a single. He went for the catch on a tough ball."
Howard had the ball in his locker after the game.
"I'm going to keep it," he said. "I still got four hits. I'm going to take it and keep it as a memento, as an almost."
Howard also singled in the first inning, hit a two-run homer in the third and tripled in the sixth.
Todd Zolecki is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.