Now Commenting On:

A look back at the Phils' BBWAA award winners

A look back at the Phils' BBWAA award winners

A look back at the Phils' BBWAA award winners

During the month of November, the Baseball Writers' Association of America announces its annual award winners -- rookies, managers, MVPs and Cy Youngs.

One of the great mysteries of the voting is the fact Charlie Manuel never won the manager's award, despite five straight National League East titles, two NL pennants and one World Series championship.

Here's a look at the Phillies' winners through the years:

NL Rookie of the Year Award
1957 -- Jack Sanford, P
1964 -- Richie Allen, 3B
1997 -- Scott Rolen, 3B
2005 -- Ryan Howard, 1B

NL Manager of the Year Award
2001 -- Larry Bowa

NL Most Valuable Player Award
1932 -- Chuck Klein, OF
1950 -- Jim Konstanty, P
1980 -- Mike Schmidt, 3B
1981 -- Schmidt
1986 -- Schmidt
2006 -- Howard, 1B
2007 -- Jimmy Rollins, SS

NL Cy Young Award
1972 -- Steve Carlton
1977 -- Carlton
1980 -- Carlton
1982 -- Carlton
1983 -- John Denny
1987 -- Steve Bedrosian
2010 -- Roy Halladay

Larry Shenk is the vice president of alumni relations for the Phillies. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español