Vote for Phillies Wall of Fame nominees

Vote for Phillies Wall of Fame nominees

It's time again for fans to help decide which former Phillies player, manager or coach should be immortalized on the Phillies Wall of Fame in 2006.

Through March 24, fans can vote online at for their top three choices from a 20-man ballot of Phillies alumni. A first-place vote is worth five points, second place three points and third place one point.

The top-five fan consensus choices as determined by total points will serve as the final official ballot for a special Wall of Fame selection committee, which will choose this year's inductee.

Bob Boone was enshrined last year for his extended excellence and large contributions. Starting with Hall of Famer Robin Roberts in 1978, the Wall of Fame now contains 27 Phillies, including seven members of the 1980 World Series championship team.

Phils players with five or more years of service are eligible for induction, while managers and coaches need four or more years of service. All candidates must be retired for three years before they can be eligible for the 20-man ballot.

Induction ceremonies will be held at Citizens Bank Park on Aug. 11, before the 7:05 p.m. ET game against the Reds, when a cast bronze plaque will be added to the Wall of Fame display in the Memory Lane section of Ashburn Alley.

Many of the living Wall of Fame members will be there to participate in the pregame ceremonies. The following day is Phillies Alumni Night in which former players living in the tri-state area will be introduced before the game.

The 20 Phillies Alumni who appear on the online ballot are:

• Pitchers: Larry Christenson, Jim Konstanty, Jim Lonborg, Al Orth, Ron Reed, Dick Ruthven, Rick Wise
• Catchers: Darren Daulton, Spud Davis
• Infielders: Don Hurst, John Kruk, Fred Luderus, Juan Samuel, Pinky Whitney
• Outfielders: Lenny Dykstra, Tony Gonzalez, Von Hayes
• Manager: Dallas Green, Gene Mauch
• Coach: Mike Ryan

The Phillies who make up the Wall of Fame are:
• Robin Roberts (1978)
• Richie Ashburn (1979)
• Chuck Klein (1980)
• Grover Alexander (1981)
• Del Ennis (1982)
• Jim Bunning (1984)
• Ed Delahanty (1985)
• Cy Williams (1986)
• Granny Hamner (1987)
• Paul Owens (1988)
• Steve Carlton (1989)
• Mike Schmidt (1990)
• Larry Bowa (1991)
• Chris Short (1992)
• Curt Simmons (1993)
• Dick Allen (1994)
• Willie Jones (1995)
• Sam Thompson (1996)
• Johnny Callison (1997)
• Greg Luzinski (1998)
• Tug McGraw (1999)
• Gavvy Cravath (2000)
• Garry Maddox (2001)
• Tony Taylor (2002)
• Sherry Magee (2003)
• Billy Hamilton (2004)
• Bob Boone (2005)

Ken Mandel is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.