Now Commenting On:

{"content":["all-star_game" ] }

Phillies hot at the All-Star ballot box

Phillies hot at the ballot box

PHILADELPHIA -- The Phillies have almost every position covered in the run-up to this year's All-Star Game, as second baseman Chase Utley, shortstop Jimmy Rollins and third baseman Placido Polanco each currently leads his respective position in voting for the National League starting lineup.

Jayson Werth and Shane Victorino also are in line to start, as they are second and third, respectively, among NL outfielders, behind Milwaukee's Ryan Braun.

Utley, with 687,724 votes, is currently the NL's leading vote-getter overall.

First baseman Ryan Howard is second behind St. Louis' Albert Pujols, and catcher Carlos Ruiz is second behind St. Louis's Yadier Molina. Raul Ibanez is currently eighth among NL outfielders.

Utley entered Tuesday's game against the Mets batting .307 with 10 home runs and 23 RBIs. He started his fourth consecutive All-Star Game at second base last year and won the position's Silver Slugger Award for the fourth straight time. He's looking to become the first player in team history to start five consecutive All-Star Games, and the first in the NL since catcher Mike Piazza started six straight from 1994-99.

Rollins, despite playing in only 12 games this year because of a calf injury, leads Florida's Hanley Ramirez by more than 30,000 votes. It would be Rollins' fourth career All-Star Game appearance. Howard has been selected twice in his career.

Ibanez, Victorino and Werth were selected to their first All-Star Games last year. Polanco made his appearance while a second baseman with Detroit in 2007. And for Ruiz, it would be his first.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at MLB.com and all 30 club sites using the 2010 All-Star Game MLB.com Ballot Sponsored by Sprint until July 1 at 8:59 p.m. PT. . Sprint subscribers can now vote on the go with select Sprint devices. They can learn more about how to vote on their smart phones at MLB.com/Sprint.

Starting rosters will be announced during the 2010 All-Star Game Selection Show on TBS on July 4. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Sprint.

And the voting doesn't end there. Fans will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet at the Midsummer Classic via the 2010 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Sprint.

The All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX and around the world by Major League Baseball International. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio play-by-play, while MLB.com will offer extensive online coverage.

The 2010 All-Star Game will be played Tuesday, July 13 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim. Fans have until 11:59 p.m. ET on July 1 to vote online, or until June 10 to vote on paper at Citizens Bank Park.

Todd Zolecki is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["all-star_game" ] }
{"content":["all-star_game" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español